Board of County Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) consists of three elected officials, each representing a geographic district but all of whom are elected at large. As the governing body of the County, the BOCC performs legislative, budgetary and policy-making functions, administers the La Plata County Land Use System, and advocates for citizens at all levels of government. Equally important, the BOCC establishes the vision and sets the direction for County government to plan for the future challenges that will face our community. The BOCC also appoints the County Attorney, who serves as legal counsel and advisor to the BOCC, and the County Manager, who performs executive functions including appointing and supervising department heads and hiring staff, coordinating and administering County programs, developing and maintaining intergovernmental relationships, drafting budgets, and advising the Board on policy matters.