Feasibility Evaluation

To begin the land use application process please follow these steps:

1. Complete the online Feasibility Evaluation Form. The form will ask for specific details regarding your project proposal and will timeout after 2 hours. Please have a site plan ready for upload prior to beginning the online form. If you experience issues, the preferred browser is Google Chrome.

Site Plan Instructions: 

An aerial view can be found by going to La Plata County GIS. This view can be printed and modified to show the items requested. A site plan showing all existing features and proposed improvements including:

a. parcel boundaries and acreage 

b. hydrologic features (ditches, swales, streams, ponds, wetlands, floodplain, etc.) 

c. locations of steep slopes (>30%) or rock outcroppings 

d. structures 

e. parking, storage areas 

f. water and sanitary sewer facilities

The Feasibility Evaluation Form will request the following information:

  • Parcel number – can be located on the county GIS webpage

  • Nature  of project

  • Access information such as easements, driveway permits, or CDOT access permits.

  • Water source and permit number – Well permits can be found at Colorado Division of Water Resources (970) 247-1845 

  • Sewer service and permit number – Sewer permits can be found at San Juan Basin Public Health (970) 247-5702 

  • Land Use Designation – can be found on the county GIS mapping webpage

  • Irrigation information 

After you have received comments from the Planning Department:

2. Use the Agency Input Form below to obtain comments from the indicated agencies.

Agency Input Form  

3. Once all agency comments have been obtained, please submit the entire packet using the link below. 

Submit your agency comments

Feasibility Evaluation Resources:


Colorado Division of Water Resources 160 Rock Point Drive # A, Durango, Colorado 81301

La Plata Archuleta Water District
255 Ute Street, Ignacio, Colorado 81137


San Juan Basin Public Health
281 Sawyer Drive, Durango, Colorado 81303

Metro Districts

Aspen Trails Metro District
No. 1 Trew Creek, Durango, Colorado 81301

Durango West Metro District 1
119 Holly Ock Trail, Durango, Colorado 81303
970-259 4267

Durango West Metro District 2
PO BOX 1092, Durango, Colorado 81302

Edgemont Ranch Metro District 
5972 CR 234, Durango Colorado 81301

El Rancho Florida Metro District
278 Homestead Circle, Bayfield Colorado, 81122

Forest Lakes Metro District 
PO BOX 440, Bayfield, Colorado, 81122

Purgatory Metro District
PO BOX 2501, Durango, Colorado 81302

Tammarron Metro District 
600 Glacier Club Drive, Durango, Colorado 81301


Colorado Department of Transportation 
20581 US 160, Durango, Colorado 81301
970-385-1423 (Jo Heinlein or Randee Reider)

La Plata County Public Works
1060 Main Ave, Durango, Colorado 81301
970-382-6363 (Aaron McKelvey)

Fire Protection

Durango Fire Protection District
142 Sheppard Drive, Durango Colorado 81303
970-382-6023 (Fire Marshall Karola Hanks)

Fort Lewis Mesa Fire Protection District
22868 CO140, Hesperus, Colorado 81326
970-759-1153 (Chief Chris Anderson)

Los Pinos Fire Protection District
275 Browning Ave, Ignacio, Colorado 81137
970-563-9501 (Chief Tom Aurnhammer)

Upper Pine Fire Protection District
75 South Clover Road, Bayfield, Colorado 81122
970-884-9508 (Fire Marshall Tom Kaufman)  

Other Agencies

La Plata Electric Association
45 Stewart Street, Durango, Colorado 81303

La Plata County Building Department
211 Rock Point Drive, Durango, Colorado 81301