Treasurer / Public Trustee's Office

The Treasurer's office is now located at:
679 Turner Drive Suite B, Durango, CO, 81303, in Bodo Industrial Park.


The annual La Plata County tax lien sale is in process.  During this time period, September 30, 2020 through November 30, 2020, only CERTIFIED FUNDS are accepted for delinquent taxes.   Certified funds are CASH or CASHIERS CHECK.  No personal checks or electronic funds can be accepted for taxes due in 2020 or prior years. To pay delinquent taxes in person, come to the Treasurer’s Office at 679 Turner Drive, Durango, CO 81303.  Due to COVID concerns and for the safety of all, please call our office if you have questions and to obtain amount due:  970-382-6352.

To participate in the annual tax lien sale, please visit and register through this website.  Research and bid on tax liens during the month of October.  The auction is Thursday, November 5, 2020.

The County Treasurer’s Office is responsible for collecting, protecting and disbursing property tax dollars to La Plata County taxing authorities. These entities include the school districts, fire districts, metro districts (e.g. Three Springs, Forest Lakes, Edgemont Metro District, etc.). The authority for taxing rests with the residents of these areas and their respective boards of directors.

Per Colorado State law, taxpayers may make one full payment, or two equal half payments. Property tax collection dates for 2020 are as follows:

  • First half due: postmarked Monday, March 2
  • Second half due: postmarked, Monday, June 15

  • Full payment due: postmarked, Thursday, April 30

Interest attaches to late payments on the 1st of each month. Postmarks do not apply on other months of the year; payments must be received prior to the end of the month to avoid an additional month’s interest. Partial payments are not accepted.

Important COVID-19 information from the state of Colorado: Interest on late first half payments for property taxes of 2019, due in 2020 will be waived for payments made between March 20 and April 20.  On March 20, 2020, Governor Polis authorized county treasurers to waive interest on delinquent payments.

The full payment deadline (April 30th) and second half payment deadline (June 15th) remain the same.  These payments are not delinquent.

You do not need to receive a tax notice to be liable for your property taxes. Tax notices are mailed at the end of January. This is the only notice you will receive during the year.  If you do not receive it, please call the Treasurer’s Office and we will send you a duplicate notice.

The Treasurer’s Office does not send tax notices to escrow companies or to banks. However, they usually request this information from us. Please check with your bank to determine if they will be paying your property taxes on your behalf. The Treasurer’s office will refund duplicate payments to the party who pays second, and will retain the initial payment received.