Liquor Licensing

Colorado liquor and beer retail licenses are issued by "dual" licensing authorities requiring review and approval from the Local Licensing Authority and State Liquor Enforcement Division.  In La Plata County, the “Local Licensing Authority” could be one of four entities depending on where the business is located: La Plata County for unincorporated areas of the county, City of Durango, Town of Bayfield, or Town of Ignacio.  The Board of County Commissioners (as the Local Licensing Authority) conducts hearings and makes findings on whether to grant or deny a liquor license based upon demonstration that the surrounding neighborhood needs and desires the issuance of the license.  Applicants unfamiliar with the lengthy and detailed application process may want to consult an attorney. If you are submitting a new application or transfer of ownership application, please call to schedule an appointment with the Licensing Coordinator at (970) 382-6252.