excellence • professionalism • community partnerships

Public Safety/Patrol

Public Safety's Mission:

To protect life and property, and provide equal justice to all

The La Plata County Sheriff’s Office Public Safety Division patrols 1800 plus square miles of La Plata County which they divide into four (4) districts.  La Plata County borders San Juan County to the north, the New Mexico state line to the south, Montezuma County to the west and Archuleta County to the east.

Public Safety deputies respond to calls dispatched from the La Plata County 911/Dispatch Center and conduct the initial criminal investigations on a variety of incidents including:  crimes against persons, crimes against property, warrant arrests, and DUI and traffic offenses on county roads and state highways when appropriate. They are also available to assist the local fire, ambulance and law enforcement agencies in the county. 

Patrol for the County is maintained 24 hours a Day, 7 Days a week.